Skip to content Skip to navigation

Recent News

May 26 2020 | ChEM-H
ChEM-H graduate students reveal how the forest of sugars on a cell’s surface could help in the defense against flu infection. BY REBECCA MCCLELLAN The flu virus relies on using human cells to reproduce and spread. But before it even gets to the cell surface, the virus must navigate the tall, dense...
May 21 2020 | SLAC
Revealing both sides of the story in a single experiment has been a grand scientific challenge. By Ali Sundermier  
May 21 2020 | Stanford News
Plans for Stanford’s new Innovative Medicines Accelerator arose before the COVID-19 pandemic struck, but now its programs are focused entirely on helping faculty generate and test new medicines to slow the spread of the disease. Facebook
May 14 2020
By Leanne Moore Rodriguez The Stanford Chemistry Department and ChEM-H look forward to welcoming new junior faculty member Steven Banik in January of 2021 after finishing his a postdoctoral studies in Carolyn Bertozzi’s lab.
Apr 27 2020 | Stanford News
WASHINGTON — The National Academy of Sciences announced today the election of 120 members and 26 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Those elected today bring the total number of active members to 2,403 and the total number...
Apr 27 2020 | Stanford News
Stanford chemists are developing new synthetic forms of a rare marine molecule that show promise for treating cancer and eradicating HIV. By Taylor Kubota
Apr 16 2020
By Leanne Moore Rodriguez The Department of Chemistry at Stanford is excited to welcome new junior faculty member Fang Liu who will join the physical chemistry faculty in September of 2020 after completing her postdoctoral studies at Columbia University. 
Apr 7 2020 | Chemistry World
Manuscripts and Zoom calls have kept Zare busy while in self-isolation at Stanford University. By Rebecca Trager
Feb 12 2020 | SLAC
A better understanding of this phenomenon, which is crucial to many processes that occur in biological systems and materials, could enable researchers to develop light-sensitive proteins for areas such as biological imaging and optogenetics. BY ALI SUNDERMIER...