Skip to content Skip to navigation

Megan Brennan, Charlie Cox, Jennifer Schwartz and Heidi Vollmer-Snarr Receive STAR Award

STAR Award

Megan Brennan Receives 2017 STAR Award

May 15 2017

Posted In:

Announcements, Awards, Staff

Congratulations to Megan Brennan, Charlie Cox, Jennifer Schwartz and Heidi Vollmer-Snarr for receiving the 2017 STAR Safety Award. The recipients were presented the award at the 2017 Graduate Student Awards Ceremony where graduate students in the Department of Chemistry were recognized for the awards, grants and fellowships they recieved during the past academic year. 

2017 STAR Safety Award

The STAR Safety Award is a departmental award given to those who are committed to promoting a strong culture of laboratory safety within the Department of Chemistry.

Over the past several years, these four lecturers have played a critical role in changing and shaping the culture of safety in our department. Most notably, this group spearheaded the adoption of more cost-effective undergraduate PPE and the development of new safety polices. Through their close interaction with first year graduate students, the PPE and safety culture has percolated upward into the research laboratories.

Thanks in part to their efforts, the Department of Chemistry was selected to receive the 2017 SafetyStratus College and University Health and Safety Award from the American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Chemical Health and Safety (CHAS). Presented to a comprehensive lab safety program at an institution of higher education, the SafetyStratus Award recognizes Stanford for “establishing, promoting and sustaining an outstanding undergraduate chemical safety program.”

The Department of Chemistry thanks Jennifer, Megan, Charlie and Heidi for their dedication to promoting a strong culture of safety and extends a sincere congratulations to all of the Chemistry graduate students for their accolades.