2019 Biology-Chemistry Colloquium: Professor Frances H. Arnold

2019 Biology-Chemistry Colloquium: Professor Frances H. Arnold
Tue October 8th 2019, 4:30 - 5:30pm
Sapp Center Auditorium

2019 Biology-Chemistry Colloquium:  Professor Frances H. Arnold 

"Innovation by evolution: Bringing new chemistry to life"

About the Speaker

Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering and Biochemistry; Director, Donna and Benjamin M. Rosen Bioengineering Center

B.S., Princeton University, 1979; Ph.D., University of California, 1985. Visiting Associate, Caltech, 1986; Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering, 1987-92; Associate Professor, 1992-96; Professor, 1996-99; Professor of Chemical Engineering and Biochemistry, 1999-2000. Linus Pauling Professor, 2000-; Director, Rosen Bioengineering Center, 2013-.

Research Areas: Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics; Chemical Engineering


Biocatalysis, protein engineering, enzyme evolution, synthetic biology

Dual Affiliation with Division of Biology and Biological Engineering

Research in the Arnold group focuses on evolutionary protein design methods (1,2) and using the results of laboratory evolution experiments to elucidate principles of biological design.

We generate novel and useful enzymes and organisms for applications in medicine, neurobiology, chemical synthesis and alternative energy. We also construct entire synthetic families of enzymes and other proteins in order to study structure-function relationships free from constraints of natural selection.

This research requires contributions from many disciplines, including chemistry, bioengineering, biochemistry, molecular biology, microbiology, chemical engineering, chemistry and applied physics.


Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2018); NAS Sackler Prize in Convergence Research (2017); Millennium Technology Prize (2016); National Inventors Hall of Fame (2014); Honorary doctorates Stockholm University, U. Chicago, ETH Zurich; ENI Prize in Renewable and Nonconventional Energy (2013); National Medal of Technology and Innovation (2011); Charles Stark Draper Prize (2011); American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2011); Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (2010); Fellow, American Academy of Microbiology (2009); National Academy of Sciences (2008); Linnaeus Lecturer, Uppsala University (2008);Cruickshank Lecturer, Gordon Research Conferences (2008);Enzyme Engineering Award (2007); FASEB Excellence in Science Award (2007); Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal, ACS (2005); National Academy of Medicine (2004); Carothers Award of the ACS Delaware Division (2003); National Academy of Engineering (2000); Professional Progress Award of the AIChE (2000).