Guthikonda Lectureship: Professor Stephen Buchwald, MIT

Guthikonda Lectureship: Professor Stephen Buchwald, MIT
Date Range
Wed April 12th 2017, 4:30 - 5:30pm
Event Sponsor
Chemistry Department
Sapp Center

Guthikonda Lectureship: Professor Stephen Buchwald, MIT, Sapp Center Lecture Hall, 4:30pm (Host: Carolyn Bertozzi)

About the Seminar:

"Palladium-Catalyzed Carbon-Heteroatom Bond-Forming Reactions for the Functionalization of Molecules Big and Small "

Cross-coupling methodology is an indispensable part of the everyday repertoire of synthetic organic chemists. Among the many possibilities, we have focused a great deal of attention on the Pd-catalyzed formation of C-N bonds (Chem. Rev., 2016, 116, 12564); a mechanistic pathway for this transformation is shown below. This methodology has been widely utilized throughout academia and industry.

Crucial to our success in the development of new and more generally applicable methods has been our discovery and use of biaryl monodentate phosphine ligands.  These have been licensed for manufacture on large scale to eight companies and are available, in many cases, on very large scale (100's of Kg produced). This methodology has been widely utilized throughout academia and industry.

More recently, we have begun to apply related methodology to the functionalization of biomolecules including peptides, proteins and antibodies (Nature, 2015, 526, 687).

This lecture will include:  1) An introduction to palladium-catalyzed carbon-heteroatom bond-forming reactions. 2) A description of ligand and catalyst development employing biarylphosphines.  3) Applications of these catalysts to the functionalization of heterocycles and the preparation of compounds of interest to medicinal chemists.  4) Applications of these catalysts to problems in bioconjugation.  This section will describe our work on the functionalization of peptides, proteins and antibodies as well as the preparation of stapled peptides.


About the Speaker:

Stephen L. Buchwald was born (1955) in Bloomington, Indiana.  He received his Sc.B. degree from Brown University in 1977 where he worked with Kathlyn A. Parker and David E. Cane at Brown University as well as Professor Gilbert Stork at Columbia University.  He entered Harvard University as a National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellow in 1977 and received his Ph.D. in 1982.  His thesis work, with Jeremy R. Knowles, concerned the mechanism of phosphoryl transfer reactions in chemistry and biochemistry.  He then was a Myron A. Bantrell postdoctoral fellow at Caltech with Professor Robert H. Grubbs where he studied titanocene methylenes as reagents in organic synthesis and the mechanism of Ziegler-Natta polymerization.  In 1984 he began as an assistant professor of chemistry at MIT.  He was promoted to the associate professor (1989) and to Professor (1993) and was named the Camille Dreyfus Professor in 1997.  In July 2015, he became Associate Head of the Chemistry Department at MIT.  During his time at MIT he has received numerous honors including the Harold Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award of MIT, an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, the 2000 Award in Organometallic Chemistry from the American Chemical Society and a MERIT award from the National Institutes of Health.  He has also been the recipient of the Bristol-Myers Squibb Distinguished Achievement Award and the CAS Science Spotlight Award, both received in 2005 and the American Chemical Society's Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry as well as the Siegfried Medal Award in Chemical Methods which Impact Process Chemistry, both received in 2006. In 2010 he received the Gustavus J. Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest. He received the 2013 Arthur C. Cope Award from the American Chemical Society. In 2014 he was the recipient of the Linus Pauling Medal Award and the Ulysses Medal (University College Dublin). In 2015 he received an honorary doctoral degree from the University of South Florida as well as receiving the BBVA Frontiers in Knowledge Award in Basic Sciences (2014 Award). In 2016 he received the William H. Nichols Award from the New York Section of the American Chemical Society and the IMPI Jun-ichiro Tanaka Distinguished Achievement Award. In 2017 he received the Nagoya Gold Medal Lecture Award and will receive the Carothers Award from the Delaware Section of the American Chemical Society. In 2000, he was elected as a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and in 2008 he was elected as a member of the National Academy of Science. He is the coauthor of over 470 published or accepted papers and 47 issued patents.  He serves as a consultant to a number of companies and is an associate editor of Advanced Synthesis and Catalysis.